Studying Abroad

I am ready to take on a new chapter in my life. I am ready to explore something new and overcome a new challenge. I’ve always wanted to study abroad, but that was always just been a thought in the back of my mind. But now I am halfway done with my Junior year and Senior year is quickly approaching, I don’t have that much time left. I recently talked to my mom about the opportunity to study abroad in Brussels, Belgium. She was unsure about it, especially the money part. If you have ever met my mom you know that she is a very analytical person. So while I’m home for Thanksgiving break we spent over an hour at the kitchen table crunching the numbers.

Using a brand new notebook, my mom started the first page of my study abroad journal. She thought this would be a good idea and even wanted me to put my own picture of Brussels on the cover. In it are three columns, comparing the costs of spending a semester in the US, a semester in Brussels, and a summer semester in Brussels. After calculating the costs of each we decided that I may actually be able to spend Fall 2015 in Brussels.

I can’t believe this thought is actually becoming more of reality. Studying abroad will provide me with new ideas and experiences. A lot of my friends studied abroad last summer and many of them are studying abroad right now and it is exciting to see those experiences happen to them and all that they have learned.

I have a long way to go and a lot of work to do to prepare for this. Besides working whenever I can, I have to make sure I am prepared. These next couple weeks I think I am going to figure out how getting I am going to obtain a visa and passport. The passport seems easy, but haven’t been able to find clear directions for the visa. It’s also never too early to plan a checklist and maybe even an itinerary. I love being organized and planning itineraries! In high school when our school band went to Disney, I planned an hour by hour schedule for my friends and I. Of course, they didn’t appreciate it as much I had hoped. But planning stuff like this is really fun to me! The only bad part about this is when things don’t go as well as planned, it an be a little annoying. But I have my convergence reporting class always teaching me everything cannot go perfectly all the time. 🙂 You just have to go with the flow and make the best of a challenging situation. Found this website that gives a little intro to some sightseeing in Brussels. I can’t wait to explore even more of these as I plan my trip and this dream becomes closer to a reality!

Photo above courtesy of Luke Ma (https://www.flickr.com/photos/lukema/) Attribution 2.0

Leave a Reply

