The end of a chapter

This semester was a crazy one! From taking my convergence reporting class to being president of my sorority, I truly learned how to manage my time. But these experiences have been so rewarding and I can’t believe they are over.

Some things I’ve learned this semester is that whenever things get too overwhelming, you need to take a deep breath! I always made a to do list. It was two sided of course! One column for the sorority and the other for school. It was probably bad that the sorority to do list was always longer than the school one, but somehow I got everything done! Also I learned that when you give 110% it almost always pays off! So always give it your all!

I also think I gained a little bit more confidence this semester. In J2150, which was taken a year ago, I would get anxiety attacks from calling sources. But now I don’t even blink when I have to call a source multiple times in one day. I learned that there is nothing to be afraid of and the worst that could happen isn’t even that bad!

I also learned to be more open to things that happen. If things don’t go the way you planned, complaining isn’t going to get you anywhere.  Sometimes going with the flow is ok, even though it may mean traveling through the unknown. I am the type of person who has to plan things out so things do go perfectly. But that didn’t happen this semester, so it was hard to deal with at first, but now I feel like I am a stronger person because I can handle crises without freaking out as much anymore.

This semester I also learned how to be a better reporter. From pitching story ideas to actually going out and talking to sources, my whole idea of what goes into a good journalism story was completely different at the start of the semester than it is now. I have a totally different view of everything and this will most definitely make me a better journalist in the future.

All in all, this semester was crazy, stressful, time consuming, but it was a BLAST! I wouldn’t want to do anything over!

Photo above courtesy of Shutterhacks (https://www.flickr.com/photos/shutterhacks/Attribution 2.0

Leave a Reply

