Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

In honor of Dr. Seuss’ birthday coming up on March 2, I decided to do a Dr. Seuss themed craft! Dr. Seuss has some great quotes! I decided to use one of them to make a wall decoration.

Here’s the quote I chose:

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

I found some great techniques on Pinterest to use for my wall decoration (links below):

I didn’t need a lot of supplies for this project. I also had a Michael’s gift card, which saved the day!

Here’s what I used:

  • A pre-painted wooden plaque
  • Paint (I used purple)
  • Paint brushes
  • Letter stickers (make sure you have the correct amount for the quote you are using)
  • Glue

IMG_0115The first thing I did was apply the stickers to my wooden plaque in order to create the quote. I used a pencil to make sure the quote was centered. I had to press my stickers down firmly because mine kept coming off. For next time, I would suggest using bigger stickers.

FullSizeRenderThen, I used my glue to create raised designs on the border of my plaque. The glue comes out really fast, so I had to be careful!

FullSizeRender copyAfter the glue was completely dry, I painted the whole plaque purple. I had to brush gently so I didn’t┬árip the flimsy stickers off the plaque!

FullSizeRender copy 2 IMG_0123After the paint dried, I wanted to paint a border with a lighter color.FullSizeRender copy 3As you can see this didn’t turn out well. But, I decided to go with it and try to take off the stickers. Unfortunately, the stickers were way too thin. They ripped apart when I tried to use tweezers to get them off the board. I knew this wasn’t going to go well. So, I decided to paint the whole board light purple to cover up my mistake with the letters.

FullSizeRender copy 5After the paint completely dried overnight, I decided to take a white paint marker and free draw the quote using the stickers as my stencil.FullSizeRender copy 6Overall it came out decent. I wish it could have been neater. But this is something I would try again.

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

Leave a Reply

