Spring is here!

This weekend, I’m home again for Easter. An Easter tradition in the Walls house is dying Easter eggs. We have done this for so many years and I wanted to find something to make the tradition a little bit different. I found this pin that repurposed the eggs that we dyed into a beautiful Easter centerpiece with flowers.

Here’s the supplies I used:

  • Three different types of flowers (I went to Walmart)
  • A glass/clear bowl, big enough to put Easter eggs in
  • A smaller cup/bowl that fits into the first bowl (to put the flowers in)
  • Enough hard boiled eggs to fill the bowl
  • Easter egg dye kit
  • Vinegar
  • Water

The first thing I did was cook my eggs. I put the eggs I needed into the pot and covered them with water. I let the water come to boil. After it was boiling I shut the stove off and put a lid on the pot. I let it sit covered for 15 minutes. Then I drained the water and let the eggs cool.

IMG_0209After the eggs were cooled, it was time to dye! I put newspaper down on the table and set up the dye according to the instructions on the package. I dropped the eggs into the dye and tried to keep them in the dye for a good 5-10 minutes. The longer they are in the dye the better the color!

IMG_0210After all my eggs were dyed, I let them sit in the egg carton until they were completely dry.

IMG_0217After everything was dry, I started setting up my vase. I took a plastic cup, poured some flower food in, and set it inside the middle of my vase. Then I started putting the colored eggs around it.

Now it was time to add the flowers. I cut them short enough to fit inside the cup. Then, I arranged them nicely. After I was happy with how they looked, I added water. I’m really happy with how this project turned out. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

