Cheers!

My mom is in town for the weekend and we are going to a winery. I found this cute craft on Pinterest that shows you how to etch your own design on glass. You can find the pin here. I thought it would be really cute if I made my mom a wine glass!

Supplies:

  • Glass of your choice
  • Etching cream
  • Paintbrush
  • Stencils
  • Rubber gloves

I first started off with super clean wine glasses. Then, I arranged my stencils to spell out “mom.” After the stencils were secure, I put on my rubber gloves. I needed to wear the gloves because the etching cream is so strong that it can burn someone’s skin off. After that, I was ready to paint the etching cream on my stencils. I had to be very careful to make sure it didn’t get anywhere else, because then it would permanently leave smudges. I let the cream set for 10 minutes. I then pulled the stencils off and washed off the cream with warm water and soap.

Overall, the project went well except I did end up getting smudges etched into my glass. For next time, I think I will wash off the cream first, before taking off my stencils.

Leave a Reply

